how do I convert CMYK to RGB?

Hi,
i’m trying to do a script that checks the color space of an image, and the determines if it has to be converted to RGB or not.
i only work with CMYK or RGB, but i need all of them in RGB. so, i want Image Events to check for the color space, and then tell photoshop that if it is a CMYK image, to change it to RGB…
the thing is I can’t even get Image Events to display a dialog with the color space… i’m really stuck…
i’ll appreciate any help.
thanks.

marto.

PS: please consider i’m a total newbie, and the only thing i understand is applescript… nor automator or shell or anything else… thanks!!!

This will get the color space for a given image… from there you could you decide wether you need to send the image to Photoshop for processing depending on the value of cSpace.

set theImage to choose file
try
	tell application "Image Events" to set cSpace to {color space} of (open theImage)
on error errrMessage
	display dialog errMessage
end try
set TheDoc to choose file
set ConvertMe to false
tell application "Image Events"
	set theFile to open TheDoc
	if color space of theFile is not CMYK then set ConvertMe to true
	close theFile saving no
end tell

if ConvertMe is true then
	tell application "Adobe Photoshop CS2"
		activate
		open TheDoc
		if mode of document 1 is not CMYK then change mode of document 1 to CMYK
		close document 1 saving yes
	end tell
end if

ok. thank you both. that worked great to do de convertion…
but things weren’t thant simple… ( i thought they would… fool of me!!! )

the process of converting the image is to be done without altering the original file, and also as image events is creating a preview file and a thumbnail.
i thought that the best and fastest thing to do is to create with image events the preview file, open that one with photoshop (if it is in CMYK), convert it, and then use that preview file to create the thumbnail file.