remove itunes drm

Hello all.

I’m a web developer by trade, but I am completely new to applescript. I hope I can learn through this forum!

The problem I’m trying to solve is this: I have roughly 500 itunes songs with drm on it. I realize there are programs I can purchase that will remove it for me, but i’d rather not pay for it. The free programs I’ve found are all for much older versions of itunes. I realize I can remove the drm by burning the songs, but that would take roughly 29 cds, so that sounds pretty tedious.

I’m wondering if there is a way, using applescript, I can put a CD-RW into my laptop, tell itunes to burn part of a playlist, reimport the songs, wipe the CD-RW using disk utility, then start over again. Is applescript this powerful?

I’d love any tips or ideas you guys could give me for this. Or, if I’m completely on the wrong track with my strategy for removing the drm, I’d love to hear that too.

I’m excited to hear your thoughts!

Will you be surprised to read that I hope that nobody will answer.

I guess that as a Web developer you want to be paid for your work.
It’s the same for the beings working upon music items.

If you dislike files with drm, buy the ones which haven’t.

Of course what I wrote is my own advice.
I don’t know if it’s shared by this forum’s moderators.

Yvan KOENIG (VALLAURIS, France) dimanche 4 septembre 2011 14:15:29

I completely understand the music world, having two parents who are professional musicians. I have no interest in stealing music, or distributing free music to my friends. I do not torrent music on that principle. Seeing as profitable music put me through college, I have great respect for hard-working musicians.