script for converting pdf to eps in acrobat

I’m looking for a script that would open all .pdf files within a folder, using Adobe Acrobat, and export them as .eps files

I don’t know why you would still want to use EPS nowadays, especially since Adobe stopped all development for PostScript years ago and are going the PDF way, but anyways. try this:

http://www.mombu.com/computer_design/general-photoshop/t-acrobat-save-pdf-to-eps-10767522.html

seems like they never got it to work in Acrobat 6, but it could be fixed in recent versions.

Acrobat has a relatively poor dictionary. Not many functions can be accessed thru Applescript. I have little experience scripting Acrobat myself, but so far it went without a hitch.

Good luck!

Model: MacBookPro8,2
Browser: Safari 534.51.22
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.7)

Hello.

If you wanted to drop the Adobe Acrobat requirement, and installed Ghost Script from Mac Update
then you could have had a commandline like this within an Applescript or whatever.

gs -sDEVICE=epswrite -sOutputFile=foo.eps foo.pdf

But maybe this won’t work for you, it is a little dependent of the standard of the pdf I guess.

But it is still worth a try.

Thanks guys, I appreciate your input. So here is what I’m trying to use:

set sourceFile to choose file with prompt “Choose File?”
set targetFile to choose folder with prompt “Destination Folder?”

try
set AppleScript’s text item delimiters to “:”
set docName to last text item of sourceFile
set AppleScript’s text item delimiters to “”
tell application “Adobe Acrobat Pro”
–get postScript level of EPS Conversion
– returns: “Can’t get postScript level of EPS Conversion.”
–set postScript level of EPS Conversion to 2
– returns: “Can’t set «class ppsl» of «class xEPS» to 2.”
–set PDF2EPS to make new EPS Conversion with properties {postScript level:2}
– returns: “Acrobat got an error: Can’t make a EPS Conversion.”
–make new conversion with properties {name:“PDF2EPS”}