scripting file encryption w/ stuffit deluxe in os x

I’m a relative AppleScript novice and could use some help. I’m trying to script the creation of a Stuffit archive with a password/encryption, using Stuffit Deluxe in OS X (10.2.6).

I have the following script, which deletes a file if it already exists, then creates a new archive and then stuffs a specific folder. I want the script to always stuff the same folder and encrypt it with my password. The script works with the critical exception that it doesn’t encrypt the file with a password.

Can anyone help? Is this not possible? Are there any other scriptable applications that could automatically put a password on a file/folder?

Thanks,
Ben

on run
try
tell application “Finder”
delete item “Macintosh HD:Users:MyDirectory:Desktop:archive.sit”
end tell
end try

tell application "StuffIt Deluxe"
	activate
	make new archive with properties {location:file "Macintosh HD:Users:MyDirectory:Desktop:archive.sit"}
	stuff {alias "Macintosh HD:Users:MyDirectory:Desktop:FolderToStuff:"} into archive "archive.sit" password "MyPassword" compression level maximum
	quit
end tell

end run

I tried your StuffIt Deluxe script and it appears to work as expected. What makes you think that the file isn’t encrypted? I was asked for a password whenever I attempted to decompress it.

The reason I think it’s not encrypted is that I’m able to open the stuffit archive created by the script without having to enter a password. I can’t understand why the script won’t work, which seems even stranger now that you tell me the script works for you!

Regards,
Ben

Yes, you can open the archive in StuffIt Deluxe (so can I), but can you actually extract anything without providing a password? :slight_smile:

Yes, it unstuffs the .sit file without asking for a password.

(Normally if you manually encrypt a file it shows a little picture of a lock on all the enclosed files, but there are no locks on the files nor at the top of the archive window.)