AppleScript w/Objetive-C to convert numbers to words

Hello all!

I’m new to this forum, I’m a software developer. I had been working with Java but I just started to code for iOS devices so I needed to change my old computer for a Mac.

The problem at this moment is that I had been using excel to make my, hum… quotation (I guess that’s the word, my mother language is Spanish), and even when I have mostly translated all my usual formulas to numbers, there is one function I’m still missing. The thing is that I coded thas specific function as a macro in VBA, and numbers (AFAIK) can’t use macros.

So I need to convert a given figure to it’s word equivalent. I might say that there are some places over the Internet that you can do that and just copy and paste the result, but I thought that this was the perfect oportunity to learn some basics about Applescript, sadly I’m far from done.

I have been searching ways to do this, and found a specific function:

on convertNumberToWords(thisNumber)
	tell current application's NSNumberFormatter to ¬
		set resultingText to localizedStringFromNumber_numberStyle_(thisNumber, current application's NSNumberFormatterSpellOutStyle)
 	return (resultingText as string)
end convertNumberToWords

For what I read this is ASOC (AppleScript with Objective C), but when I call this function it send me this message:
error “NSNumberFormatter no entiende el mensaje “localizedStringFromNumber_numberStyle_”.” number -1708 from NSNumberFormatter (The Spanish part is: “Can’t understand the message”)

And that may be right, because at least for iOS that function is:

(NSString * nonnull)localizedStringFromNumber:(NSNumber * nonnull)num
numberStyle:(NSNumberFormatterStyle)localizationStyle