A problem running a shell script

I have a shell script in a folder on my hard drive. This script runs a java application and then returns its results. If I execute it from a terminal session (sh go.sh) and am in the same folder as the script it works fine.

Using applescript, If I "do shell script “/full/path/go.sh” using the same bash script, java returns an error saying it cannot find the javac compiler or the class main file.

This must be a path error??
I am a bit lost as I see that the “unable to find file” message is a path error, but I don’t know how to instruct applescript to set the path for the bash script.

Max

Hi,

without knowing the actual path it’s very hard to answer this question…

Stefan,

Quite right…that was vague. It’s a struggle for me to describe some of this. Be warned that I am complete beginner!

The path to the bash script folder; /Users/accounts/Downloads/bardecoder_7_3_1b_osx/java/go.sh
ls for that folder ; IMG_3627.jpg Softek libbardecode.dylib sample.class go.sh libbardecode_jni.dylib sample.java

the script “go.sh”;

#!/bin/sh
set -x
#javac /Users/accounts/Downloads/bardecoder_7_3_1b_osx/java/sample.java
DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=. export DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
CLASSPATH=$CLASSPATH:. export CLASSPATH
java sample

(Line 3 is commented out as it was a lazy way to ensure the class file was ready.)

When in terminal and having cd’d into the folder- /Users/accounts/Downloads/bardecoder_7_3_1b_osx/java; (as above)
I can enter sh go.sh and it works perfectly. No error messages and the decoded barcode value is returned.

If I now go into an applescript and run “do shell script /Users/accounts/Downloads/bardecoder_7_3_1b_osx/java/go.sh”
i get

Result:
error "+ DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=.

• export DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
  • LD_LIBRARY_PATH=.
  • export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
  • CLASSPATH=:.
  • export CLASSPATH
  • java sample
    Error: Could not find or load main class sample" number 1