Get Info Question

I’m finishing a shareware app that has to open in Reader. Mainly, I don’t want users to open the app in Acrobat. I found a solution that works - I use a kill_pid script someone gave me - kill acrobat pro - and then force adobe reader to open the main file. This works but it’s cumbersome. I tried other things like coercing Reader to open an alias but the solution I’m using is the best strategy so far.

I was just wondering, does anyone know, is it possible to use applescript to lock – ‘open with’-- in ‘get info’ for a particular file? In other words, is there some way to write a script that would prevent users of my app from changing the default application, for my main application file, in get info, to acrobat? I’m no programmer, I just dabble here and there. I checked out the resources I have, and it doesn’t seem like this is possible. But I thought I would ask the developers on this forum. Thank you much.

No you cannot do that, but I don’t think it’s what you’re looking for. The console user (the currently logged in used into the Desktop) is always free to change launch services settings in userland. Then at any given time the root user is able to change default application settings in launch services system wide. There is no locking involved at all, it’s a free for all world.

Files are opened using AppleEvents in Mac OS X systems. Most common is of course the open AppleEvent which is named the same in AppleScript. I only have Adobe Acrobat Professional so this is what I would use:

set appName to "Adobe Acrobat Pro"
tell application appName
	open "/Users/me/Desktop/test.pdf"
end tell