Firefox or Safari: Download All Linked Files To Specific Folder

Hello All,

I’m new to Applescript. Like another poster here, I also download many files from the net using Firefox (I still have Safari but I just prefer Firefox. If this script is possible only in Safari that’s fine too). I would like to know if it’s possible to write a script that tells my browser to locate all links on the page, then download each linked file from those links into a specific folder. Is this possible and how do I do it? Thanks.

Don

Hi Don,

welcome :slight_smile:

something like this? It works only in Safari, the scriptability of FireFox is hopeless

property fileList : {"jpg", "gif", "png", "tif", "bmp", "zip", "dmg", "pdf"}

set destinationFolder to POSIX path of (choose folder)
tell application "Safari"
	activate
	set num_links to (do JavaScript "document.links.length" in document 1)
	repeat with i from 0 to num_links - 1
		tell application "Safari" to set this_link to do JavaScript "document.links[" & i & "].href" in document 1
		set {ASTID, AppleScript's text item delimiters} to {AppleScript's text item delimiters, "/"}
		set fName to last text item of this_link
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ASTID
		try
			if text -3 thru -1 of fName is in fileList then
				do shell script "curl -o " & quoted form of (destinationFolder & fName) & space & this_link
			end if
		end try
	end repeat
end tell

Thanks Stefan! That’s very close to what I’m looking for. The script still won’t download all the links on the page for some reason. Here is a link to the page I’m trying:

http://fastandfuriousfootball.com/CollegeOffense/

There are 139 items on the page. I believe there are different kinds of links on this page, some to start downloading files and others that direct you to another page. Maybe that makes a difference. Just wanted to supply a sample page so it’s easier to get help. Thanks very much.

Don