Apple Mail specific email signature script

I am new to the AppleScript language and just recently decided to try and tackle this problem: my friend would like me to write a script that will select an amended email signature in Apple’s Mail client for a reply to a conversation he initiated, (there will only be two total signatures, the first being a full email signature and the second being an amended shorter version).

So essentially when he composes a new email, the script will automatically choose the full signature and then, if after there is a reply to his email, he replies to the same thread, the second, shorter email signature will be chosen. (Basically he wants to keep all that signature info from unnecessarily repeating throughout the convo, and he can’t be relied on to change his signature manually, haha).

So there is the challenge, and up until now, I have been trying to call the script whenever a new compose window is opened (I was doing this with the help of SignatureProfiler’s ability to call a script from the signature). After a new message had been opened, I was then trying to access the properties of that message to evaluate it’s position w/in the conversation, (i.e. “is it a reply?”, etc.). The problem is that accessing the properties (including the content) of an existing mail message displayed in its own window, which is frontmost, is not possible… (at least from what I can tell).

Does anyone here have any ideas on how to go about tackling this problem, esp. about how to call the script in the first place w/ out having to rely on a third party plugin… or would this problem require the creation of a plugin of its own to accomplish what I want?

This little problem has really stumped me and now is consuming my thoughts! haha. Any input/help would greatly be appreciated!

Hello.

Here is something to get you started.
You can’t amend an extra signature to the signatures in mail. That is bound the last text in the mail message.