Looping Word/Excel formating workflow with automator/scritps??

Hello,
I’m new to automator and scripting. I’ve searched the forum for scripts that might help me with my needs, but I can’t really find the right tool. I’ve been really impressed with the responses here though. I hope I’m not asking too much, or that what I need is possible with scripting and automator. Any help with any part of this task would be greatly appreciated.
I would like to use Automator for formatting hundreds of word documents that I have. I would prefer to use automator (instead of one single script), since I’m a beginner and I think first learning how to include a few scripts in automator would be more useful than trying to figure out scripting w/o automator. Unfortunately, I can’t find the formatting actions that I need within the automator program or on the internet, so I think I will need to augment the automator workflow with some scripts. I believe it is possible to integrate scripts into an automator workflow fairly easily.

I am trying to achieve several different things here:
a) get this tedious work done.
b) learn some additional actions/scripts to include in an automator workflow for word for future use.
c) learn some additional actions/scripts to include in an automator workflow for excel for future use. This seems super powerful since automator should be able to follow excels columns and rows quite well.

I have two excel tasks I am having a hard time finding a script to automate as an action. These actions are:

1. Rename a file with content from an excel cell. I learned how to select a cell in excel and paste it into a text document, but not use it to rename a doc/finder ‘item’ (the included rename finder item function does not allow for this).