AppleScript under 10.7 Lion

Hello everyone,

first, I am a beginner with apple and mac os.

I have wrote a script for 10.6 to use the spellchecker within my Java-Program:

tell application "Automator Runner"

set mySpellChecker to call method "sharedSpellChecker" of class "NSSpellChecker"

set foundLanguages to call method "availableLanguages" of mySpellChecker

end tell

which works nice under 10.6

But now under 10.7 even under the applescript console an error occurs at:

tell application "Automator Runner"

set mySpellChecker to call [b]method[/b] "sharedSpellChecker" of class "NSSpellChecker"

set foundWords to call method "availableLanguages" of mySpellChecker

end tell

Expected end of line but found identifier.

Can anyone please give me a hint, what has changed from 10.6 to 10.7. In the Changelog I cant find either an AppleScript change or a change with the spellchecker API. Also other scripts from the web using the “to call method …” fails with the same error.

Thanks for any reply in advice

Michael Coldewey

Browser: Firefox 7.0.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.7)

I might be mistaken, but i think the call method method has been deprecated in Lion. Mainly because you can now use AppleScriptObjectiveC within the AppleScript Editor.

I successfully made it work like this:

First I created a new Cocoa-AppleScript Applet byt going to the File menu, New from Template, Cocoa-AppleScript Applet. Saved it on the desktop for now, then I integrated this code:

set spellChecker to current application's NSSpellChecker's sharedSpellChecker()
set foundLanguages to spellChecker's availableLanguages()

But the thing is, this returns an NSArray object, and i’m not quite sure how to do that within AppleScript. Tried to coerce it to list, but it didn’t work.