useing a specific window...

Hey,
I’m pretty new to the scripting stuff, and just want to have a script that will put a cmd into a window that is already open, heres what i have so far

tell application "Terminal"

do script with command "sudo" in window "1"

end tell

i think it is right, but when i run it i get an error:

“terminal got an error:
NSArgumentEvaluationScripError”

what am i doing wrong, and what does this error mean?

thanx

Terminal’s dictionary says that ‘with command’ is deprecated. You have also coerced 1 to text by enclosing it in quotes - it probably needs to be a number. Does this work?

do script "sudo" in window 1
end tell

well i dont get the error anymore with your code, but it doesn’t do the command either :confused: it just opens up bounces a lil and shuts down, not doing what i want it to heh.

I’m not familiar with sudo but I think that just ‘sudo’ is an incomplete command.

Rob is correct, sudo alone will not work. You can use “sudo -k” in the code. The -k arguement simply resets the sudo users time stamp to 0. Or you can use “sudo sh” in the code. Also the “with command” has been dropped in later versions of the AppleScript. So, try this code

do script "sudo sh" in window frontmost

end tell

The above code needs to have an open terminal window. Hope that helps.

well i’m not doing the sudo comand at all, it was just an example heh, but the frontmost thing works in a regular window, but i was trying to make it do it in an eDonkeyClc window, but there is obviously another prob, beacuse it doesn’t work with eDonkey. I was thinking that beacuse it ran in the terminal that it would just treat it as another window, but it does not. so thanks anyway for your help :?

It might have been helpful to know this up front. :expressionless:

Are you aware that you can issue shell commands directly from a script, without using the Terminal? If you don’t actually need a window, this might be useful.

do shell script "shell command here"