Is this possible? Condition/s in Numbers doc triggers actions in macOS

Hello, I’m a beginner, occasional-scripter. At this stage I JUST want to establish if the following functionality is possible. I am open to suggestions for alternatives that achieve the same result.

Desired Functionality:
Multiple Numbers documents created in macOS, hosted on a Mac Mini used as a server and shared ‘live’ via iCloud with colleagues. The intention is colleagues will open one file at a time and modify the content (Checkboxes etc). When [conditions are met] say, all the Checkboxes are checked in a file, Applescript will notice and execute an action. - Either move the file or send an email etc.

I’m not expecting an instant execution/action to result as soon as the Numbers doc meets particular conditions as this might cause admin problems for us and I believe it’s not possible anyway. If the files were all scanned just once a day, then ‘actioned’ where applicable, that would be perfect.

1. Is this possible?

and

1. If it’s possible, would this functionality require each Numbers doc to be opened for this process to work, or can they be ‘read’ / ‘scanned’ / ‘assessed’ while closed?

I will really appreciate your advice on the feasibility of this function.

Model: iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2012)
AppleScript: 0.0.0
Browser: Safari 604.5.6
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.11.6)

The way the title is phrased - “Condition/s in Numbers doc triggers actions in macOS,” I don’t know about.

But from the description, it doesn’t sound like that’s actually the functionality you need. It sounds like you want to scan the document once a day, and if certain conditions are met, you want to execute more code.

That’s certainly possible. Run an Applescript on a schedule, and it opens the Numbers doc, checks the status of the checkboxes, and if their status meets whatever logic you want, then do whatever outer actions you want to perform.