Choose folder command to create "Hot" folder

Hello,

I’m pretty new to applescript. At this moment i’m using a folder action to create a “hot” folder, which duplicates the files placed in this folder live to another backup folder.

This is the script i’m using as folder action and it works fine:

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving these_items
	tell application "Finder" to duplicate these_items to folder ("Macintosh HD:Users:photograper:Desktop:Target:")
end adding folder items to

But I wan’t to combine this script with a “Choose folder” command. So I can save the script as an application and manually point a specific source and target folder and get the script running.

I tried this, but no result:

set this_folder to choose folder with prompt "Select source folder:" with multiple selections allowed
set target_folder to choose folder with prompt "Select backup folder:"

tell application "Finder" to duplicate these_items to target_folder

Any suggestions how to get the “adding folder items” function interact with the first part of the script where you can set the source and target folder?

Thanks a lot!,

Patrick

You may try :

set these_folders to choose folder with prompt "Select source folder:" with multiple selections allowed # I renamed the variable because it may contain several folders
tell application "Finder" to duplicate these_folders to target_folder

or

set these_folders to choose folder with prompt "Select source folder:" with multiple selections allowed  # I renamed the variable because it may contain several folders
my sharedCode(target_folder, these_items)

my sharedCode(this_folder, these_items)

on sharedCode(this_folder, these_items)
end sharedCode

Yvan KOENIG running High Sierra 10.13.5 in French (VALLAURIS, France) lundi 18 juin 2018 16:43:09

Hi Yvan,

Thanks for your reply.