Last Month as Name not number

I am a novice, I am not a programmer but have been able to get AppleScript to do quite a bit for me, mostly by trial and error. I am in need of some help accomplishing two things:

1. How do I set this property to return a month name (May) vs. a month number(5)
    property last_month : (month of (current date)) - 1
  2. How do set this property to have a leading zero if the month number is less than zero (06)
    property email_subject_month : month of (current date) as integer

Here is the beginning of the script, any other feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Thank you,
Mike

Run on the first workday of every month

set image_path to (path to the desktop folder as string)
tell application “Finder” to set email_attachment to items of folder image_path whose name is “Re-Price Showroom.png”

property current_month : month of (current date)
property last_month : (month of (current date)) - 1
property email_subject_month : month of (current date) as integer
property email_subject_year : year of (current date) as integer
property email_subject : “(” & email_subject_year & “-” & email_subject_month & “) Re-Pricing Showroom”
property email_body : "Welcome to " & current_month & "! " & return & return & ¬
"As a reminder, please ensure to re-price those items that have changed lease rates for " & current_month & ", and those prices now expired from " & last_month & "

tell application “Mail”
set new_email to make new outgoing message with properties {subject:email_subject, content:email_body}
tell new_email
end tell
end tell

Welcome to Macscripter.

Straight-Forward way to do those things:

set textMonth to item ((month of (current date)) - 1) of {"January", "February", "March", "April", "May", "June", "July", "August", "September", "October", "November", "December"}

set paddedMonth to text -2 through -1 of ("0" & (month of (current date) as number))