Size of “.Trashes” Folder on external Drive

Hi everyone,

As i’m new to the Forum i want to introduce myself real quick. My Friends call me Neyghey, i’m a Video Editor and Multimedia Artist by profession, heavy Mac user both personally and professionally, and an automation fanatic.
I have used this site as a resource for some time now and thought i’d register for an opportunity to have my own questions answered and also to - maybe one day - give something back to the community. I really appreciate all of your efforts in helping people with their applescript problems, you have helped me dozens of times already as a guest user. So thanks for that! Here’s my first Question:

I’m trying to determine the size of the .Trashes folder of an external Drive. I am working in Automator with a “Run AppleScript" Action that receives an alias to an external Volume as input:

on run {input, parameters}

set trashPath to (the POSIX path of input) & ".Trashes"

set docFolder to path to documents folder

set itemSize to size of (get info for docFolder) --is working

--set itemSize to size of (get info for trashPath) --is NOT working

display alert itemSize

return itemSize
end run

Now, when i run the code like this, i get the correct size of the documents folder in bytes. But when i enable the line where i set itemSize to the size of my .Trashes folder, itemSize is “msng”. I am guessing that i somehow don’t have permission to view the contents of .Trashes?. How would you guys approach this?

I would be very thankful for any insight…:slight_smile:

path to documents folder

is an alias specifier

and

(the POSIX path of input) & ".Trashes"

is a POSIX path. info for expects an alias. Further input is a list

You have to flatten the list and create an alias for example

set trashPath to  ((item 1 of input) as text & ".Trashes") as alias

Thanks Stefan, sadly the result is still “msng”… any ideas? my new code:

set trashPath to (((item 1 of input) as text) & ".Trashes") as alias