Sunday, February 23, 2020

#1 2020-02-11 02:01:50 pm

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Mounting volumes in the background

Hello I have been running this script in FileMaker Pro for years now and it has been quite reliable.

I now want to make my process more efficient. I am then starting to run filemaker script on the server than rather on the client.

However, for some of the filemaker scripts a NAS (Synology DS214+) called "FARAMIR" has the be mounted. Up to now there was no issues because those scripts ran on the client.

In running FileMaker server I only have to turn on my Mac mini and the server becomes remotely accessible to all clients. I do not have to logon onto an account and everything for filemaker server to be remotely accessible.

There is an exception, the NAS  is not mounted.

Is there a way with an applescript for it to mount the NAS without having to log on? What about super user, would that be the way to go?

With regards!

Thanks

--------


Applescript:

set cancellingscript to "NO"
set mountedFARAMIR to ""
repeat until mountedFARAMIR contains "MOUNTED"
   try
       set mountedERROR to "NO"
       set theping to (do shell script "ping -c 1 -t 1 192.10.5.63")
   on error
       display dialog "There was a problem connecting to the file server. FARAMIR does not seem to be available at this time. Verify if the server was started and try again" with icon stop buttons {"Cancel", "Keep trying..."}
       if button returned of result is "Cancel" then
           set cancellingscript to "YES"
       end if
       set mountedERROR to "YES"
       delay 5
   end try
   if mountedERROR is equal to "NO" or cancellingscript is equal to "YES" then
       set mountedFARAMIR to "MOUNTED"
   end if
end repeat
if cancellingscript is equal to "NO" then
   tell application "Finder"
       set mounted_disks to list disks
       --display dialog result as string
       if mounted_disks does not contain "Data" then
           try
               mount volume "afp://FARAMIR._afpovertcp._tcp.local/Data"
           on error errMSG number errorNumber
               display dialog ("There was a problem mounting FARAMIR/DATA : " & errorNumber as text) & ", please notify your system administrator"
               return
           end try
       end if
   end tell
   delay 3
   
end if

Last edited by DPaquin (2020-02-11 04:50:10 pm)

Offline

 

#2 2020-02-12 12:29:36 am

KniazidisR
Member
Registered: 2019-03-03
Posts: 912

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

The button "Cancel" is reserved by the display dialog command to have special behaviour - immediately interrupting of the script. Therefore, you can't get the result of the display dialog command when using exactly "Cancel". To avoid this behaviour you can do 2 things: 1) set other name, for example: "cancel", "CANCEL", "canCel", "Cancell" only not "Cancel". 2) set display dialog into 1 second try block, trying to cat the "User cancelled" error.

Because your display dialog is already into one other try block, I advise you to use slightly different name. So as not to create unnecessary confusion.

With 2nd method you should do something like this:

Applescript:


set cancellingscript to "NO"
set mountedFARAMIR to ""
repeat until mountedFARAMIR contains "MOUNTED"
   try
       set mountedERROR to "NO"
       set theping to (do shell script "ping -c 1 -t 1 192.10.5.63")
   on error
       try
           display dialog "There was a problem connecting to the file server. FARAMIR does not seem to be available at this time. Verify if the server was started and try again" with icon stop buttons {"Cancel", "Keep trying..."}
       on error
           set cancellingscript to "YES"
       end try
       set mountedERROR to "YES"
       delay 5
   end try
   if mountedERROR is equal to "NO" or cancellingscript is equal to "YES" then
       set mountedFARAMIR to "MOUNTED"
   end if
end repeat
if cancellingscript is equal to "NO" then
   tell application "Finder"
       set mounted_disks to list disks
       --display dialog result as string
       if mounted_disks does not contain "Data" then
           try
               mount volume "afp://FARAMIR._afpovertcp._tcp.local/Data"
           on error errMSG number errorNumber
               display dialog ("There was a problem mounting FARAMIR/DATA : " & errorNumber as text) & ", please notify your system administrator"
               return
           end try
       end if
   end tell
   delay 3
   
end if

NOTE: I see a lot of redundant code here (several checks for the same condition, extra variables ...). After solving the main problem, you should consider optimizing the code.

Last edited by KniazidisR (2020-02-12 12:55:53 am)


Model: MacBook Pro
macOS Mojave -- version 10.14.4, Ram 4 GB
Safari -- version 12.1
Firefox -- version 70.0

Offline

 

#3 2020-02-12 01:38:20 am

KniazidisR
Member
Registered: 2019-03-03
Posts: 912

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Updated script.
Removed unnecessary, added necessary. But I couldn’t go any further because the server is offline.

Applescript:


set aMessage to "There was a problem connecting to the file server.
FARAMIR does not seem to be available at this time.
Keep Trying will Verify if the server was started."

set {serverAvailable, buttonPressed} to {"NO", "NO"}

repeat while serverAvailable is "NO"
   try
       set serverAvailable to "YES"
       do shell script "ping -c 1 -t 1 192.10.5.63"
   on error
       if buttonPressed is "NO" then
           display dialog aMessage with icon stop buttons {"CANCEL", "KEEP TRYING..."}
           set buttonPressed to button returned of result
           if buttonPressed is "CANCEL" then
               display dialog "The script cancelled by the user"
               return
           end if
       end if
       set serverAvailable to "NO"
       delay 5
   end try
end repeat

tell application "Finder"
   set mounted_disks to list disks
   --display dialog result as string
   if mounted_disks does not contain "Data" then
       try
           mount volume "afp://FARAMIR._afpovertcp._tcp.local/Data"
       on error errMSG number errorNumber
           display dialog ("There was a problem mounting FARAMIR/DATA : " & errorNumber as text) & ", please notify your system administrator"
           return
       end try
   end if
end tell

Last edited by KniazidisR (2020-02-12 01:49:28 am)


Model: MacBook Pro
macOS Mojave -- version 10.14.4, Ram 4 GB
Safari -- version 12.1
Firefox -- version 70.0

Offline

 

#4 2020-02-12 08:37:28 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Thanks KniazidisR for your reply.

I am sorry for the confusion. The issue here is more the ability to run the script in the background. I.e without logging onto a user account. In running the script in the background there are no user interaction being possible.

I've just removed from the script all lines where there was some user interaction. From the script the NAS is found (ping) and Data can be mounted. This implies there would be a sequence in the order the computer and the NAS is turned on.

First, I would start the NAS and wait until the light is no longer flashing;
Two, I would then start the MacMini without logging in.

Then the script to mount the external drive is to be performed in the background.

Is there a way with an applescript for it to mount the NAS without having to log on? Is there a way for the applescript down below to be run in the background? What about super user, would that be the way to go?



Applescript:

try
   do shell script "ping -c 1 -t 1 192.10.5.63"
on error
   return
end try

tell application "Finder"
   set mounted_disks to list disks
   if mounted_disks does not contain "Data" then
       try
           mount volume "afp://FARAMIR._afpovertcp._tcp.local/Data"
       on error
           return
       end try
   end if
end tell

Offline

 

#5 2020-02-12 10:54:17 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

I think mounting drives is best to do with script in /etc

ex.

save that line to your auto_smb inside /etc on your macmini.

/Users/Share/MyDrive -fstype=smbfs hmm/username:password@NAS_DRIVE_NAME/directory_path



After that I do not think you need to login to your macmini

http://www.csd.uwo.ca/~amulder/HowTo/smb-mounts-auto/


EDIT: 13/2 - 2020
If any has problem with connection or performance of using smb2 or smb3 should read the
link below from Apple Suggestions Published Date: January 10, 2019
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205926

Last edited by Fredrik71 (2020-02-13 03:28:52 am)

Offline

 

#6 2020-02-12 10:59:26 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

If you didn't know Apple have deprecated afp, in favour for smb it's faster on mac.

DPaquin wrote:


mount volume "afp://FARAMIR._afpovertcp._tcp.local/Data"

Last edited by Fredrik71 (2020-02-12 11:00:09 am)

Offline

 

#7 2020-02-12 07:13:08 pm

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Thanks Fredrik71.

Wow, this is exactly what I was looking for. This is greatly appreciated, I will be testing it on next week.

Also I did not about apple afp vs smb. I have been using the Go + Connect to server command and they only offer afp as a choice. Maybe it’s because I am using Mojave.

I will also look into this.

With regards!

Offline

 

#8 2020-02-13 02:37:15 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

In Go + Connect... it's not always logic.

But you could try... cifs://YOUR_NETWORK_ADDRESS...

people who have problem with smb:// use cifs:// instead...

Most NAS server has support for at least this protocols... smb, nfs and sometimes afp...
So check your setup in your NAS it's not Mac setting.

DPaquin wrote:


Also I did not about apple afp vs smb. I have been using the Go + Connect to server command and they only offer afp as a choice. Maybe it’s because I am using Mojave.

Offline

 

#9 2020-02-16 11:42:32 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Hello Fredrik71

I am trying to understand the command line.

/Users/Share/MyDrive -fstype=smbfs /username:password@NAS_DRIVE_NAME/directory_path

On my system there is no Share folder but there is a Shared folder. Would that be the same ?

What does the MyDrive stand/used for ?


In looking in the old afp command and the smb command you are recommending I would then substitue the NAS_DRIVE with FARAMIR and /directory_path with /Data

mount volume "afp://FARAMIR._afpovertcp._tcp.local/Data"



What do you think in adding : soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid part of the -fstype

The command would then look like this,  :

/Users/Shared/MyDrive -fstype=smbfs,soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid /username:password@FARAMIR/Data

does it make sense? At the moment I really do not understand the statement "/Users/Shared/MyDrive"

Also in going within the etc folder, I’ve noticed there is no « auto_smb » file.

Should I add in the auto_master the following ?
# Network Shares
/-                auto_smb    -nosuid,noowners


and then create the auto_smb file with the command line -fstype=smbfs,soft..... ?


With regards!

Thanks!

Last edited by DPaquin (2020-02-16 11:55:28 am)

Offline

 

#10 2020-02-16 02:21:54 pm

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

The NAS is your server
Macmini is your client.

If you do not have auto_smb file in your /etc then you create one, it's a simple text file.

The setting you do inside /etc/auto_smb
Will make your macmini to know the locate of directory_path, username and password to connect with your NAS.

The setting after -fstype=afp
you will find username, password and IP or SERVERNAME
To know the username and password and IP you could get from the settings in your NAS.

Now we know the settings for NAS.

But we also need to mount it to the Macmini.

The setting before -fstype=afp
Is the path on your Macmini there you like it to be.

ex.

Lets say you have create a share on your NAS with the directory name MediaOfAwsomeFilms
You like that directory to be inside your Home/Movies

Home=(/Users/YOUR_USERNAME)

When you start your Macmini and go to your directory Movies
You will have a folder with the name 'MediaOFAwsomeFilms'

/Users/your_user_name/Movies -fstype=afp afp://your_username:your_password@NAS_NAME/DIRECTORY_THAT_YOUR_NAS_USE_TO_SHARE

DIRECTORY_THAT_YOUR_NAS_USE_TO_SHARE= The NAS also have directory structure and every
NAS server do it different, if you create a custom directory on your NAS it will not be in your root.
Many unix system use a folder 'Media' but it could be anything. Some maybe use /usr/local/media

But you could connect to the server with finder and from that know the last part of the setting
for your auto_smb

Maybe it's enough to type your custom folder on your NAS after NAS_NAME

So say your NAS use /usr/local/media Sharing setup.

If you create a custom folder... it will be inside /usr/local/media/name_of_your_custom_folder

So how does that look in on Mac you wonder...

If you type cd /Users

You will se a folder with the name Shared

This is a folder we could use to share files to all users. If you like to do that...
If it's only you... and you always login to your account I guess you could share to your account instead of /Users/Shared

I hope that make sense smile

Here is other site that use 'afp'
https://blog.netnerds.net/2013/10/mount … right-way/

Last edited by Fredrik71 (2020-02-16 02:56:19 pm)

Offline

 

#11 2020-02-16 03:25:46 pm

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

MANY THANKS for your help, it is GREATLY appreciated.

On my NAS named FARAMIR, the directory structure is the following:
/Data/ZVinformatique/CompétitionCourante/01/mp4files.mp4
/WebMediaFile/WebDAV/clip/mp4files.mp4
/CompétitionPrécédente/mp4files.mp4

When accessing the files I always refer to :
/Volumes/Data/....
/Volumes/WebMediaFile/....
/Volumes/CompétitionPrécédente/....

For my programs to work I need whatever is found after Volumes stays the same. Doing the following would that make sense.

/Users/Shared/myData -fstype=smbfs,soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid /username:password@FARAMIR/Data


/Users/Shared/myPrécédente -fstype=smbfs,soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid /username:password@FARAMIR/CompétitionPrécédente


/Users/Shared/myWebData -fstype=smbfs,soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid /username:password@FARAMIR/WebMediaFile

Offline

 

#12 2020-02-17 01:54:22 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

DPaquin wrote:


For my programs to work I need whatever is found after Volumes stays the same. Doing the following



/Users/Shared/[YourDirectory] -fstype=smbfs hmm/[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data

/Users/Shared/[YourDirectory] -fstype=smbfs [colon]//[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data

[colon] = :

The options you have
soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid

or

soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid,rw

rw = read & write

if the option do not work for you, leave them out...

====

you also need

colon 2 forward slash

hmm/

before username, see the example above, the problem is when I type it here I get emoji

Last edited by Fredrik71 (2020-02-17 01:56:51 am)

Offline

 

#13 2020-02-17 03:57:28 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Thanks again.

I had the same issue you had with the emoj, I clicked "never show smile as icons for this post"

Without the option 

/Users/Shared/[YourDirectory] -fstype=smbfs ://[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data
/Users/Shared/[YourDirectory] -fstype=smbfs ://[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/CompétitionPrécédente

the [YourDirectory] should they be different one for /Data and the other one for /CompétitionPrécédente. My guess would be that they have to be different. Am I correct?

/Users/Shared/myData -fstype=smbfs ://[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data
/Users/Shared/myPrécédente -fstype=smbfs ://[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/CompétitionPrécédente




With the option

/Users/Shared/[YourDirectory] -fstype=smbfs,soft,noowners,noatime,nosuid,rw ://[username]:[password]@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data

Offline

 

#14 2020-02-17 06:23:46 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

DPaquin wrote:

should they be different one for /Data and the other one for /CompétitionPrécédente. My guess would be that they have to be different. Am I correct?



Yes, about the options do not know what they do or if you need them.

I do know it works without them at least on my system.

Offline

 

#15 2020-02-18 08:54:33 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Here are the auto_master and the auto_smb files stored in /etc

/etc/auto_master

#
# Automounter master map
#
+auto_master        # Use directory service
/net            -hosts        -nobrowse,hidefromfinder,nosuid
/home            auto_home    -nobrowse,hidefromfinder
/Network/Servers    -fstab
/-            -static
#
# SMB Disk mount
#
/-            auto_smb    -nosuid,noowners


/etc/auto_smb

#
# Network Shares
#
/Users/Shared/myData -fstype=smbfs :/username:password@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data



Is there a way to know if those are being executed?
Is there a way to test it without having to restart the macmini?

Where could I find more about this type pf programming?


Thanks!

Offline

 

#16 2020-02-18 12:20:45 pm

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

DPaquin wrote:


/Users/Shared/myData -fstype=smbfs :/username:password@FARAMIR/Volumes/Data

://username... is the correct way

Is there a way to know if those are being executed?

log when you boot...

Is there a way to test it without having to restart the macmini?

man mount give you all information to do that

Where could I find more about this type pf programming?

google search is your friend, I have send your 2 links in this thread...

Offline

 

#17 2020-02-19 11:53:46 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Thanks again!

I am a beginner in this type of scripting. I know this is not applescript, neither I believe it is shell scripting. How do we call this type of scripting?

As per the log,

I've looked into Console + System Reports, User Reports, system.log, /Library/Logs, /var/log and do not find any statement about mounting successfully the NAS or not. I did not find anything there?

I did cmd + v upon startup and the log started to display. It went so fast that it was difficult to see if auto_smb was executed. I then logged in under my account and under terminal typed the following "sudo dmesg" command. I've copied and pasted the log in a textedit document. Doing a search on the command line declared in auto_smb I did not find anything.

In looking at the two posted links in more details I saw instructions on "How to configure your MAC to automatically mount an SMD share as needed". Within the instructions there is a bunch of sudo command. I did not execute any of the sudo command. When updating the auto_master and creating the auto_smb file I've :

1 - went directly into the /etc folder;
2 - copied /etc/auto_master and pasted it in desktop;
3 - textedit auto_master to add the auto_smb statement;
4 - pasted another copy of auto_master, renamed auto_master to auto_smb;
5 - recorded in auto_smb the mount statement;
6 - pasted/replaced the desktop auto_master in /etc;
7 - pasted the desktop auto_smb in /etc.

Should I've been using the sudo command instead?

MANY THANKS AGAIN!

Last edited by DPaquin (2020-02-19 12:14:03 pm)

Offline

 

#18 2020-02-19 03:03:23 pm

KniazidisR
Member
Registered: 2019-03-03
Posts: 912

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

DPaquin wrote:

Should I've been using the sudo command instead?



1) Your steps above is the 1st manual way to change etc contents (editing it in the TextEdit).
2) Other manual way is using Terminal window + sudo.
3) 3rd way. To do all at the place using AppleScript, instead of sudo you should use with administrator privileges statement.

For example, instead of $ sudo touch /etc/auto_afp (in Teminal window), you should use this:

Applescript:

do shell script "touch /etc/auto_afp" with administrator privileges

Last edited by KniazidisR (2020-02-19 03:07:39 pm)


Model: MacBook Pro
macOS Mojave -- version 10.14.4, Ram 4 GB
Safari -- version 12.1
Firefox -- version 70.0

Offline

 

#19 2020-02-19 03:36:01 pm

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

The directory /etc belong to the root... so 'how do I know that'

if you type: ls -al /etc

You will see... 'root' that is the owner, 'wheel' is the group.
The wheel group is a group which limits the number of people who are able to su to root.

Normal user account without administrator access will not be able to write but maybe read.

To edit /etc/auto_smb you could use sudo... if your account have administrator access.
The simples way is to login as Administrator and use vi, nano... editor to change that file.

ps. I have only told you to change the auto_smb or create one, not changing the auto_master

If you change the auto_master you maybe break something else.

DPaquin wrote:


Should I've been using the sudo command instead?

Offline

 

#20 2020-02-19 04:06:59 pm

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Please note, I sincerely appreciate your help. This is difficulty for me because I trying to do something I require but for which I am not familiar with this scripting.

if you type: ls -al /etc
You will see... 'root' that is the owner, 'wheel' is the group.

Confirmed!


I have only told you to change the auto_smb or create one, not changing the auto_master

I still have the original. In this link http://www.csd.uwo.ca/~amulder/HowTo/smb-mounts-auto/

    $ sudo vi /etc/auto_master
Add the line "/- auto_smb" to that file.
    $ sudo touch /etc/auto_smb
    $ sudo vi /etc/auto_smb
    $ sudo chmod 600 /etc/auto_smb


To me performing

1 - went directly into the /etc folder;
2 - copied /etc/auto_master and pasted it in desktop;
3 - textedit auto_master to add the auto_smb statement;

was the same then doing

$ sudo vi /etc/auto_master
Add the line "/- auto_smb" to that file.




Peforming

4 - pasted another copy of auto_master, renamed auto_master to auto_smb;
5 - recorded in auto_smb the mount statement;
6 - pasted/replaced the desktop auto_master in /etc;
7 - pasted the desktop auto_smb in /etc.

was the same than doing

$ sudo touch /etc/auto_smb
$ sudo vi /etc/auto_smb



I do not know what the

$ sudo chmod 600 /etc/auto_smb

is doing.

Then, if better I could go back to the original auto_master and perform all of the sudo commands as describe in the link http://www.csd.uwo.ca/~amulder/HowTo/smb-mounts-auto/

Do you recommend for me to start all over and do the sudo commands as described in the link above?


_

Offline

 

#21 2020-02-19 04:47:41 pm

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Do this... and nothing else.

Here is a copy of /etc/auto_master

#
# Automounter master map
#
+auto_master            # Use directory service
/net                    -hosts          -nobrowse,hidefromfinder,nosuid
/home                   auto_home       -nobrowse,hidefromfinder
/Network/Servers        -fstab
/-                      -static
/-                      auto_smb
                                                                                                                                                                                       
/hosts                  -hosts          -nobrowse,hidefromfinder,nosuid


=====


Here is a copy of /etc/auto_smb

[DIRECTORY_PATH_MACMINI] -fstype=smbfs ://username:password@[NAS_NAME]/[DIRECTORY_PATH]

This 2 files are not same... so you couldn't copy 1 to other...

The touch command do 2 things...
create a empty file if the file do not exist.  or set the modification time to current.

If the file do exist you use vi, nano...

To learn basic unix is very useful to be able to master a computer from Apple.
If Apple do not have reference to what you seek, maybe 'freebsd' has...
Or go to https://stackoverflow.com

Read PDF, ebooks about Scripting, SysAdmin, Bash.

The only way to be better in something is to read, test and see what happens.

Last edited by Fredrik71 (2020-02-19 06:06:14 pm)

Offline

 

#22 2020-02-20 02:57:37 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

What type of scripting is being used within an auto_master?

I believe this is not a bash neither a shell script.
I believe this is not an applescript.

What is it then?


THANKS!

Offline

 

#23 2020-02-20 03:58:10 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

1. Inside a directory we have 'files'
2. What is the name of the directory 'etc'
3. We ask google search with the keyword 'means'

we end up with this...

google search: files /etc means

or

google search: intext:/etc + macOS + means
(we want '/etc' to be in the text of every page it find)

or

google search: intext:/etc + unix + wikipedia
we could also type site:en.wikipedia.com intext:/etc + unix
that means... we tell google search to look in english wikipedia for keyword /etc and unix

when you become a power user of google search, you will search many times with keywords.

Now you will know... smile

Type this in google search: site:macscripter.net intext:DPaquin

DPaquin wrote:


What is it then?

Offline

 

#24 2020-02-20 04:38:05 am

DPaquin
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 108

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Thanks again!

1. Inside a directory we have 'files'
2. What is the name of the directory 'etc'
3. We ask google search with the keyword 'means'

we end up with this...

google search: files /etc means.....



Do not worry, I did all of those research and I have been watching YouTube videos like crazy and still looking for how this script is being called. I know FORTRAN, COBOL, PL/1, Basic, RPG, Assembler, Esri Info, FileMaker Pro, SQL, AML and other programming languages.

I want to be able to test this script but again I am still trying to find what programming, scripting language this is. Why ? Because I want to understand better what I am dealing with.

Doing a google search on /etc means was done three data ago and still.
Doing google search on keyword, I am doing.
I did google search on auto_master example
I did google search on auto_smb examples
I’ve opened and tried to understand other script found in /etc and /etc subfolders...
Doing those google search I´ve found bash and shell script are pretty much the same they both have to start with #! and they both need to be made executable with a chmod +x executable
I’ve looked at https://osxdaily.com/2007/03/30/mac-os- … explained/ and found out etc meant “Machine local system configuration, holds administrative, configuration, and other system files”.

I will still continue doing google search. If I would find this is cobol programming I would than get a cobol programming manual.

I’ve started to look at freebsd

Lately I’ve looked it was a daemon scripting and its not. Unfortunately, I am still asking myself “What is it then?“

Last edited by DPaquin (2020-02-20 05:44:21 am)

Offline

 

#25 2020-02-20 05:46:00 am

Fredrik71
Member
Registered: 2019-10-23
Posts: 84

Re: Mounting volumes in the background

Why do you think system configuration script is a Scripting language ??

Would you say... preference files in Library folder are a Scripting language.

so how a system configuration looks like are different for every task and purpose

/etc/sudoers

tell you who have access to sudo command to do administration task.
that file have a different structor compare to auto_smb, and they have nothing in common.

DPaquin wrote:


I want to be able to test this script but again I am still trying to find what programming, scripting language this is. Why ?

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

RSS (new topics) RSS (active topics)