VLC.app: Play multiple movies on the pseudo VLC instances

Dumb, but really working solution to the problem with full user control over pseudo-instances. It takes about 1.5 minutes to wait until the new copy is verified by the system.

set movie1 to (choose file of type "public.movie")
set movie2 to (choose file of type "public.movie")

tell application "Finder"
	set VLC2 to duplicate (path to application "VLC")
	set VLC2name to name of VLC2
end tell

tell application VLC2name to open movie1
tell application "VLC" to open movie2

delay 60 -- to test only

tell application VLC2name to quit
tell application "System Events" to delete VLC2

Bash’s open command with the -n (new instance) option provides a straightforward way of opening multiple media files in separate VLC instances without having to make a copy of the application. I have been using the following AppleScript script for a couple of years. It screens all files currently selected in the Finder and opens any of them that are valid media files (i.e., that conform to the Uniform Type Identifier types public.movie or public.audio, or that the user has designated as media files in the specialMediaFileExtensions property based on their file extension):

use framework "Foundation"
use scripting additions
property || : current application

-- The user should place in the "specialMediaFileExtensions" list the file extensions of any valid (typically newly introduced) media file types whose Uniform Type Identifier (UTI) does not conform to the "public.movie" or "public.audio" UTI
-- As an example, "mkv", the file extension of Matroska videos, would have been placed in this list prior to it being assigned its current non-dynamic Uniform Type Identifier "io.mpv.mkv" that conforms to "public.movie"
property specialMediaFileExtensions : {}

-- Constant
set sharedWorkspaceObj to (||'s NSWorkspace)'s sharedWorkspace()
-- Get the HFS paths of all files currently selected in the Finder