Calling AppleScript Handler from Cocoa Application in PB

I’m building a Cocoa app and I’m very new to Objective-C. I have a library of AppleScript handlers that I would like to call from my Cocoa app passing variable parameters to the various handlers but I’m stumped how to make this work. I understand how to call a script and have it return a value from the explicit run handler but not other handlers and not passing parameters.

Thanks,
Jon

I don’t know if this works with a Cocoa app (can you use a script to call another script?) but say you have a script with the following handlers.

to add2numbers(n, nn)
	return n + nn
end add2numbers

to mulitply2numbers(n, nn)
	return n * nn
end mulitply2numbers

Now you can load this script and call the various handlers within it.

set foo to load script file "path:to:library"
set multiplied_ to foo's mulitply2numbers(2, 6)
--> 12

set sum_ to foo's add2numbers(2, 1)
--> 3

Is that what you need?

Rob, thanks, but I don’t think that’s what I need. I found this posting online and I think it is more along the lines of what I want to do but I can’t figure out how to make it work (the author didn’t respond to my query even though I promised valuable rewards for some illumination).

Jon

Ok, I was afraid of that. Sorry I can’t offer more.

– Rob

Jon,

Here’s a post to the applescript-users mailing list that might be helpful.

Thank, Rob!

Jon

Jon, I don’t know if you subscribe to the applescript-studio list so here’s something else that popped up today and might be useful.

DocGlue was created as a global data store for all your AppleScript Studio scripts. It can remember values for later, then recall those same values in another script. The download package includes an Objective-C class (doing all the work), an AppleScript library (talking to the Objective-C class), documentation, and a Sample project.

– Rob