Attempting to update iTunes Album Artwork from file

Hey-
I am trying to write a script (that I am going to embed into a cocoa application) that takes an image from a file and loads it into iTunes as the album artwork. I have searched through these forums and pieced together the following script:

tell application "iTunes"
	set currentArtwork to my getImage("/Users/ryanpatrick/Pictures/butterfly_fish.jpg")
	set data of artwork 1 of current track to currentArtwork
end tell

on getImage(pathToImage)
	tell application "Image Events"
		launch
		set thisImage to open file pathToImage
		return thisImage
	end tell
end getImage

The error that I get is the following:
Can’t make <> “butterfly_fish.jpg” of application “Image Events” into the expected type.

I am fairly new to using Applescript but am a programmer by trade. If anyone has a better way of doing this, please let me know…

Thanks in advance.
-Ryan

Hi Ryan,

I don’t have a good solution and don’t have Image Events. Just writing this to give you some info.

When you take a picture and drag or paste it into the artwork, iTunes converts this to PNG and I think adds some other stuff. You can see this by comparing the data of the original picture and the data of the artwork. If you get the kind of the artwork, it shows png. The raw data is surrounded by chevrons and looks something like this:

<<data PICT… a bunch of hex digits here …>>

This is what you set the data of the artwork to. Since I don’t have Image Events, I don’t know if or how you can get this data. To see how this data looks try running the following script on a track that has artwork:

property track_name : “Time Passages”
property track_kind : “MPEG audio file”
(* – to get data from a file as PICT
set the_file to choose file with prompt “Choose a picture file:”
set file_type to file type of (info for the_file)
set d1 to (read the_file as file_type) – raw data
*)
tell application “iTunes”
set lib_pl to first library playlist