Parse .csv files with applescript

Hello,
What I am trying to do:
I am a college student and am somewhat new to applescript. My problem is that different profs give me important dates for their courses through different mediums such as: internet, excel, and on paper. It is easy for me to bring all the dates into an excel file and save it as .csv. I have around 150 of these dates that i need to put into entourage as calendar events. It would save me a great deal of time if i could write a script that would create calendar events from from the .csv file rather than manually creating 150 calendar events.

What i know:
I found some scripts that came with entourage that let me create a calendar event. So i can create a calendar event with applescript.

Where my problem right now is:
Right now i need to parse a .csv file which contains 3 values per line for example:

Jan 4, Topic 1: the cell, 8:30
Jan 8, Topic 2: microorganisms , 11:00
Jan 11,Topic 3: mitochondria , 9:30

I have no idea how to do this, any help would be greatly appreciated. (my system information is located below)

Model: MacBook Pro
AppleScript: 1.10.7
Browser: Firefox 1.5.0.9
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

This can get you started:

set csvData to "Jan 4, Topic 1: the cell, 8:30
Jan 8, Topic 2: microorganisms , 11:00
Jan 11,Topic 3: mitochondria , 9:30"

--> or:
-- set csvData to read file "path:to:file.csv"

set csvEntries to paragraphs of csvData

repeat with i from 1 to count csvEntries
	set {theDate, theTopic, theTime} to parseCsvEntry(csvEntries's item i)
	--> now, pass the parsed data to Entourage calendar event
	--> if you need a valid date, just:
	-- set fullDate to date (theDate & space & "2007" & space & theTime)
end repeat

to parseCsvEntry(csvEntry)
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ","
	set {theDate, theTopic, theTime} to csvEntry's text items
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {""}
	return {theDate, theTopic, theTime}
end parseCsvEntry