Run code after app finishes launching?

Hey there

I am writing an app that will be run when a user logs in, and I have some code that it needs to run as soon as the app finishes launching.

Since this is an AppleScript Studio app with a GUI, it needs to wait for the nib to load and all the components to appear before running this code otherwise.

The reason for this is that if I run the main code immediately, the window doesn’t get set key/main whatever until after the main code has finished, so the interface components, such as my progress bar, stay greyed out.

The app is working perfectly in every way other than that it doesn’t set the window to active or whatever before proceeding to run the main code, where do I need to put this main code to get it run run once everything in the app is loaded and the main window is active?

Sorry if it’s not clear what I’m asking, as this is a little difficult to explain, since I’m new to all this really!

Thanks very much if anyone can help!
Ryan

The place I always refer to to remind me which order the different launch-time events occur is the documentation for the “awake from nib” handler. You are wise to understand already that certain code MUST occur in certain event handlers, largely due to how and when objects are loaded from the nib. If you try to perform actions that effect interface elements before they “exist”, you’re going to run into problems and oftentimes this is a difficult one to catch when you’re not used to troubleshooting ASStudio development. The handler you’re probably looking for is the ‘launched’ handler, which is fired only once, and AFTER the nibs awaken.