Script to launch a hidden app on a CD

Hi,

I have searched long and hard for solution to this so I hope you can help.
This is my first attempt at apple script so I’m not sure if what I am trying to do is possible.

I am building a CD that has a number of hidden files on it, including mPlayer/Flash applications.
I have compiled a small script then saved it as an application. The user then double clicks this script to launch one of the hidden applications (hidden using Toast’s “Invisible” option) on the CD.

It works perfectly on the computer on which it was written (PowerPC/10.4) but fails to run on my other Mac (PowerPC/10.3)
where I get the following message:

An error of type -10814 has occurred.

I have tried various methods including calling the application name (which failed on the originating Mac once the CD was burnt), the application creator code and the bundle identifier. I settled on the latter.

Here is the code that I am currently using:

tell application "Finder" to open application file id "com.screentime.mProjector.mPlayer-995483581"

I have also tried this:

tell application "Finder" to set appName to name of application file id "com.screentime.mProjector.mPlayer-995483581" as string
launch application appName

What am I missing?

Model: Dual 1.25 G4 PowerPC
AppleScript: Editor 2.1.2 (81) / Script 1.10.7
Browser: Camino 1.6.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Try using the full path:

tell application "Finder" to set appName to posix file "/path/to/com.screentime.mProjector.mPlayer-995483581" as alias
launch application appName