Excel 2008 and Applescript

I have been searching and trying to learn to how do what it is that I want to do. I am brand new to scripting. I think my need is simple:

I have two excel files: one has the data I want (the source) the other is where I want to copy selected cells (the target). One would think that the microsoft excel dictionary would support something as basic as copy/paste but, as far as I can tell it doesn’t. Unless I’m missing something. I can find the “copy object” statement but cannot find it’s paste equivalent.

Help? Or is this an unreasonable thing to expect?

Thanks

Here are a variety of ways to copy/paste between worksheets. The script below shows four.
Have you downloaded the Apple Script Reference from http://www.microsoft.com/mac/developers/default.mspx?CTT=PageView&clr=99-21-0&target=4acff5ca-5863-4bb6-9a3b-09d2bc0d1dc71033&srcid=e1dbbe49-e45b-4606-bc00-dc5d3bd2d4601033&ep=7

tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	set sourceRange to get range "A1:A10" of sheet 1 of workbook "Workbook1.xls"
	set destinationRange to get range "B1:B10" of sheet 1 of workbook "Workbook2.xls"

-- fastest 
	set value of destinationRange to value of sourceRange

--Straight copy paste
	copy range sourceRange destination destinationRange

copy range sourceRange
	--copy paste/special values
	paste special destinationRange what paste value

-- copy to selection on destination sheet
	paste worksheet (worksheet object of destinationRange)

end tell

Hmmm…I’m trying it and nothing is happening. I’m not getting any error messages (finally) but not getting results either. But this gives me a really good place to continue working from.

thanks so much.

It worked in my Excel 2004. You should change the file names (and the .xls tags) to match your situation.