Friday, September 22, 2017

#1 2009-08-15 05:18:09 am

masgar
Member
From:: Milan - Italy
Registered: 2009-07-01
Posts: 9

window always on top

Hi there,

I'm developing a small app using applescript studio with a simple UI and I'm facing a problem I can't solve even if I searched in this and others forums/mailng list.

I have a big window with a table with severals rows (all my itunes albums). Besides this table there is another smaller window with an image view inside that show artwork.

the two windows are indipendent each other so I can't simply insert the image view in the main window.

I've done this way to make a simple "carousel" effect. the smaller window has a repeat loop to change image view position until is completely out of the window hiding the image.

The problem is when I click on any row of the table the main (bigger) window became the front window hiding the smaller window and its content.

There is a way to set a window to be always on top when visible is true?


Thanks in advance,
Max

Offline

 

#2 2009-08-15 06:36:37 am

RetroDesign
Member
Registered: 2009-03-11
Posts: 172

Re: window always on top

I'm not sure if this is what you want but if I remember it good there's this command :

Applescript:

set level of window "myWindow" to 1

If this command gives an error, I'll search for the AppleScript where I used it in and see if it's the correct syntax. Because I'm not 100% sure it was that command.

Anyway, it could be that you're trying something completely different..

Offline

 

#3 2009-08-15 11:14:22 pm

regulus6633
Member
From:: Taulov, Denmark
Registered: 2006-11-02
Posts: 1695
Website

Re: window always on top

Just use a panel for the image view instead of a window. If you have the "utility" checkbox checked in the attributes inspector it will stay on top.

Offline

 

#4 2009-08-16 06:13:02 am

masgar
Member
From:: Milan - Italy
Registered: 2009-07-01
Posts: 9

Re: window always on top

thanks to both. set level works fine.

Max

Offline

 

#5 2010-09-23 03:23:41 pm

fdenger
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26
Posts: 4

Re: window always on top

I tried set level of window "typed in window name" to 1 and got an error. Does this need to be inside a tell for something? I can't figure it out and I can't figure out anywhere in the documentation where I can find this info... Thank you

Offline

 

#6 2016-09-03 06:29:41 pm

noitidart
Member
Registered: 2016-09-03
Posts: 3

Re: window always on top

This is an awesome topic, I learned the set level technique from here. However it it does not work for me. May you lease see my post in this topic - http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?pid=186924#p186924

Offline

 

#7 2016-09-04 04:14:26 am

StefanK
Member
From:: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Registered: 2006-10-21
Posts: 11481
Website

Re: window always on top

Consider that the original post is from 2009 and AppleScript Studio (the AppleScript developer environment in Xcode) has been abandoned around the same time.


regards

Stefan

Offline

 

#8 2016-09-04 05:50:45 am

noitidart
Member
Registered: 2016-09-03
Posts: 3

Re: window always on top

StefanK wrote:

Consider that the original post is from 2009 and AppleScript Studio (the AppleScript developer environment in Xcode) has been abandoned around the same time.


Aw darn. Is there any equivalent for set always on top these days? Thanks StefanK for reply.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

RSS (new topics) RSS (active topics)