From ISO 8601 conversion to general date handling.

I’m new to AppleScript, but I’ve been programming since 1964. So I’ve been looking, unsuccessfully I’m afraid, for something like a library of date handling routines. What I’m trying to do comes in both simple and complex forms:

Simple Form
Given a date & time string that more or less conforms to ISO 8601 standards, such as “2013-01-31 12:31:57” convert it to the U.S. format and then coerce to a variable of type “date.”

Complex Form
Given a date & time string in any of a number of common formats, coerce it to a date-type variable in a portable way. This will require either (a) learning the system’s Dates and Times formats (System Preferences > Language & Text > Formats) so the string can be converted to a legitimate source format or (b) programmatically saving the current Dates & Times formats, substituting a particular set of formats (perhaps the one of the source string), modifying the source string if necessary, coercing the source string into a date variable, and restoring the original Dates & Times formats.

The difference between the two is that the simple form is hard-wired for ISO 8601 to U.S. on the way to setting the date-type variable, whereas the complex form is general and can coerce any standard date & time format to a date-type variable.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks.

Hi,

Knowing that are so many ways to format a date, you might want to start with knowing what type of date and converting that.

Edited: I guess the question is where are you getting all these different formats?

Edited: If you get it from the user, then you might want to nuse something like a date picker.

gl,
kel