Capture One - New Session

Hi sorry I’m quite new at scripting!

Im hoping to try to write a script to open a new session in Capture one and set the Folder name, path and capture name.

Could anyone help me out?

Thanks!

I had a look at Capture One recently on behalf of someone, and it didn’t offer much joy scripting-wise. It actually has quite a large scripting dictionary, but lots of it simply doesn’t work. I suspect it’s been carried over from a previous version, where it presumably once worked.

Sorry if that sounds discouraging…

Ah ok thanks for letting me know.

The scripting dictionary, is this an actual thing that I can look at to see terms? (Sorry Noob question I imagine :|)

Yes it is. Find (Apple)Script Editor in /Applications/Utilities. Then drag Capture One’s icon over its icon.

Capture One is rather idiosyncratic in a number of ways and not very intuitive ” that makes scripting it even more difficult.

Here’s something to get you started.

set sessionName to "My Session Name"
set sessionPath to "/Users/chris/Pictures/Project 1/"

tell application "Capture One"
	set newDoc to make new document with properties {name:sessionName, path:sessionPath}
end tell

tell application "System Events"
	tell application process "Capture One"
		set frontmost to true
	end tell
end tell

Here are a couple of test scripts I wrote a while back ” just to show some more features.

set selectedVarient1 to (get parent image of (get item 1 of (get selected variants)))
	set photoFilePosix to (id of selectedVarient1)
	set photoFileName to name of selectedVarient1
end tell

tell front document
		set _selects to selects
		set imgList to images
		set itm1 to item 1 of imgList
		set documentProperties to properties of itm1
		set item1Name to name of itm1
		set item1ID to id of itm1
	end tell

set selectedVarient1 to (get parent image of (get item 1 of (get selected variants)))
	set _file to (id of selectedVarient1)
	set _name to name of selectedVarient1

end tell