Creating a Folder Action Script - Copy folder into dropped folder

I am a total novice to scripting and have been trying to learn Applescript via Lynda.com In doing this I have learned that Applescript is very straight forward and I event got my script to work once, but now I can’t get it to work again. Each time I save my script and re-open it the first line characters appear as asian text.

on adding folder items to "users:johnnaptown:desktop:new art" after receiving added_items
	tell application "Finder"
		try
			duplicate "users:johnnaptown:desktop:new client art folder" to added_items
		end try
	end tell
end adding folder items to

Problem: when I re-open the file the line showing:

on adding folder items to "ã¨€ç”€çŒ€æ”€çˆ€çŒ€ã¨€æ¨€æ¼€æ €æ¸€æ¸€æ„€ç€€ç€æ¼€çœ€æ¸€ã¨€æ€æ”€çŒ€æ¬€ç€æ¼€ç€€ã¨€æ¸€æ”€çœ€€æ„€çˆ€ç€" after receiving added_items

shows the path as asian characters…

Any thoughts on why this is happening?

Hi John. Welcome to MacScripter.

The ‘on’ line of a handler shouldn’t contain any real values. Only variables to receive those values when the handler’s called. So you should have a variable name instead of “users:johnnaptown:desktop:new art” after the ‘to’ ” although you won’t actually need to use the value in your script.

Secondly, you want to duplicate the added items to the other folder, not it to them. Also, “users:johnnaptown:desktop:new client art folder” is just text, not a disk item as such. It’s also not a valid HFS path, since it doesn’t begin with a disk name. You should include the disk name and put ‘folder’ in front of it (when using the FInder or System Events). For instance, if your disk’s called “Macintosh HD”:

But in fact, with the Finder, if the folder’s on the current user desktop, you only need:

So:

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_items
		try
			duplicate added_items to folder "new client art folder" of desktop
		end try
	end tell