Help on Repeat Find and Replace Function for Excel with Applescript

Hi guys,

I was wondering if I could get some insight into how to accomplish what is essentially a repeat find and replace function in excel? I only started learning applescript last Thursday, so I’m less than a week in (be gentle!) For extra context: I’ve been looking at the A/S Dictionary and it’s been helpful, but it’s sorely lacking in examples of proper syntax, so it leaves a newby like me a bit unsure of how to order my commands.

Specifically, what I want to do is this:

1. I want the script to look through one specific column in excel (say, for example, column A)

2. While looking through that one specific column, I want it to find any values belonging to a cell in that column, be they single characters or entire sentences. (so it will go through A1, A2, A3, A4, etc)

3. When it finds a value in a cell in that one single column, I want it to replace that value with the simple word “correct” (so if it finds a value in A3 it will replace that value with “correct”)

4. If the script finds cells that do not have any values, I do not want it to put anything in those cells. In other words, leave blank cells blank.

My initial thinking was that it was a simple If/Else statement, so I tested my understanding of if/else statements with this basic script:

tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	activate
	if value of cell "A1" is "a" then
		set value of cell "A1" to "correct"
	end if
end tell

That worked, so I was happy, so I thought I could scale up that functionality with some variables and gave this a try:

activate
	set column_a to range "A:A"
	if value of column_a is "" then
		set value of column_a to ""
	else
		set value of column_a to "correct"
	end if
end tell