Automator won't pick printer

Hello all. New member here, and a total noob when it comes to scripting, automator, etc. Looking for help in automating a printer task.

I have an automator task that triggers weekly. I want it to print a “test page” in color to keep the print heads from clogging up. I have two printers, a HP laserjet (my default printer) and an HP color printer.

The automator task fires at the correct time, based on a calendar trigger. It prints the correct document, but always prints to the laserjet instead of the color printer.

In the “Print Finder Items” dropdown, I have the HP Envy selected. Even if I run the script from automator, it doesn’t print on the color (non-default) printer.

What am I doing wrong?

I should add that the color printer goes to sleep after 15 minutes, but even if I wake it up, automator prints to the laserjet.

Thanks in advance,

George

George, you don’t say what version of MacOS you’re running, but here’s a possibility. I’m on Sonoma 14.7 and in System Settings there is a setting for printers that (on my system) looks like the attached screenshot. It’s possible, that regardless of the setting in Automator, the MacOS will always select the last used printer unless this printer setting is changed. Just a thought.

Thanks for the reply, and I think you’re right.

I’m running Sequoia 15.0.1.

My printer settings are to have the laserjet the default printer.

I wonder if it would be possible to script a change to the default printer before printing, and then switch it back.

Just to be clear this is way beyond my capabilities, which is why I’m here, LOL.

You can probably add this shell script, which sets the default printer:

lpoptions -d you_printer_id_not_its_ui_name

I’m sure you’ll need more info on this, which I don’t have time to add right now… Maybe others will chime in.

1 Like

Thank you! I’ll give it a shot!

1 Like

To follow up on @leo_r’s suggestion…