Can Automator do this?

Hi everyone,

I have a question. How can I make a action with Automator to do this. I want to go to Google or Yahoo or MSN do a search for a keyword than take a snapshot of the page and save it to a folder. Than use iCal to have the action happen daily. This might be easy to make, but I am new to this program. Can someone help me out?

Thanks,
Walter

Walter:

Yes, it can, with a caveat. Create a workflow with the following actions:
Get Specified URLs
In this action, enter the url of the site you wish to image, and be sure the box is checked.
Display Webpages
Take Screenshot
This action is a little irritating. You cannot simply choose a folder for all your screenshots, you must actually choose a filename in any location you wish. Therefore, every time you run the workflow, the file will be over-written with the new data. Also, I put a delay of 5 seconds into the action as well, just to be sure.

What you may need to do is create a Folder Action on the folder that contains your screenshot to rename or move your fresh screen shot. You could also modify this workflow so that the first action in the workflow moves or renames the screenshot file already present.

I am pretty sure that once the workflow is saved as an application, iCal can fire it every day. I will check into that.

EDIT
Once the workflow is functioning as you desire, navigate to Automator’s File menu, and choose Save As Plug-in… Then, select iCal Alarm, and modify the settings however you wish for regular triggers.

Good luck,

Actually just tested something.

**EDITchanged the first action
New Text (found under the variables Tab, Drag the New Text from the variable actions column, and drop it on to the workflow area, It will show up as a get Value of variable)
As you do this a Variable info Pane should rise up at the bottom of the workflow window.