Missing values, nulls, and nils. What is what?

I’m a little confused. So what I think about these are:

¢Missing value is when you don’t have any data to store into a variable.

¢Null is nothing as a character 00.

¢Nil is nothing without absence.

Am I wrong?

Hello Dylan.

I have no experience with nil in plain AppleScript.

Missing value: the variable is defined but is missing a value, (which is actually a class).

Null: you can view null as null, as a value which would be something like memory location 0 (which is defined to contain 0), if this were C, -I just view null as null.
Edit:The reason for having a null value, is to have a value that is guaranteed not to show up in some other context, - an unique value that can’t be mistaken for some other. I think that nil would be a synonym for null but I’m not totally sure.

I’d like to add undefined to the debacle.
undefined is not a class but a state but different from missing a value as missing a value is a variable which is defined to be of the class of variables that are missing a value, and undefined, is more at the level below, where nothing is defined about that variable.

set a to 10
log a ”> 10
set a to undefVar()
log a ”> "Error the variable a is undefined"

on undefVar()
	return
end undefVar

I don’t know if this helps.

Hi, Dylan.

‘missing value’ is an AppleScript placeholder token you can use as a temporary value for a variable, list item, record property, etc. or when you’re not able to return a value in a situation where one is expected.

There’s a compilable ‘null’ keyword in AppleScript, but it’s not advertised as part of the language, so it’s best not to use it. I believe the word itself is etymologically related to “nil”.

“Nil” is the English contraction of the Latin “nihil”, meaning “nothing”. It has no meaning in AppleScript. (There’s a witticism to be had in there somewhere, but I can’t put it together this early in the morning. :wink: )

Hello.