Move a file to a relative folder

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and english isn´t my native language, so sorry for any mistakes.

I am trying to move a selected file to a folder relative to it location. I have manage to make this work when moving the file to the desktop:

tell application “Finder”
set itemlist to the selection
set theFile to item 1 of itemlist
set theFile to (move theFile to desktop)
end tell

I would like now to replace desktop for something like ~/Final_Project , so I don´t need to tell the scrip where the location of the folder Final_Project is, just tell it that it is on the same location of the file selected, is there a way to accomplish this?

Thanks in advance.

I am relatively new to AppleScript, but I’ve managed to get this to work at moving a file to a Desktop folder named “Final Project”. You’ll need to change that portion of the script to match the location of your folder. Good luck.

use AppleScript version "2.4" -- Yosemite (10.10) or later
use scripting additions

tell application "Finder"
	activate
	set source_file to choose file with prompt "Please choose the Source File"
	set target_folder to "Users:homer:Desktop:Final Project" as alias --Change location as needed
	move source_file to (target_folder)
end tell
1 Like

Hi thanks for your help, but not exactly what I am looking for…

I need the script to move the selected file to a folder call Final_Project which it will be content within the same folder path of the file… but I need the scrip to use a relative path, as I have a lot of folder call Final_Project within many folders. so I cannot give it to the script a full path, just a relative path, to avoid to create as many script as folders I have.

A solution for this will be something like:
~/Final_Project The script need to understand that ~/ need to be replaced for the path of the file.
Not sure if the path of the file could be copy on a variable and then use the variable to replace ~/